Baby names……can you keep a secret?

March 11, 2009

I have friends who “save” names for future children and refuse to divulge them for fear of getting them stolen!  I was tempted to do that, but I love so so many names that I could not possibly have enough children to use them all up.  So I’m sharing my secrets here in this post.  My favorite names list has been compiling in my head for a long time, but a few websites really streamlined it recently.  One of those sites is called Nymbler “Your personal baby name assistant”.  I love entering names and seeing what other names it comes up with.  Also the definition feature is very handy, simply click the name and it opens a small pop-up with origin and popularity information.

The Parents Connect baby name tool was actually really helpful too, even though it seems to lean toward popular rather than obscure names.

I could spend hours with the NameVoyager, ohhhh so many fun tools and statistics, and on top of it the founder has a great blog.  Anyone interested in origins of names, trends etc.  just has to check out her knowledge and friendly writing style.

So after all that….here is my current list of naming love:

Boys:  Nolan, Lachlan, Asher, Keane, Grady, Grant, Graeme (Graham), Reid, Kellan, Killian, Soren, Lorne, Cale, Galen….

Girls:  Samantha, Cassia, Noelle, Annalise, Calla, Linnea, Celene, Hannah, Kate, Dahlia, Lilah, Emmeline, Selina, Esme, Lucia..

What do you think of my names?  Have any of your own to add?  (I can keep a secret)

4 Responses to “Baby names……can you keep a secret?”

  1. MePregnant Says:

    Baby names……can you keep a secret? « deeply green…

    My favorite names list has been compiling in my head for a long time, but a few websites really streamlined it recently. One of those sites is called Nymbler “Your personal baby name assistant”. I love entering names and seeing what ……

  2. Rache Says:

    I like those names! I was totally leaning towards obscure names too, but my husband ended up choosing a name early on (for whether it’s a boy or girl), and I went with them. Louie is after his best friend from his childhood who died in a car accident..R was devastated, and wants to honor him. I’m totally cool with it, because I know how much it means to him. He also chose Laila, because he’s a huge boxing fan and the best female boxer around is Laila Ali, Mohammed Ali’s daughter. I think she retired undefeated, and she’s totally a role model for all female boxers. I think it’s a beautiful name any way. I’m choosing the middle names, but I’m not going exotic for those. Ricardo (after you-know-who, but in Spanish to honor his Mexican heritage) and Abril (again after you-know-who, hehe, Spanish for the same reason). Let’s see, of your names my favorites are Keane and Cale and Dahlia, Lilah and Lucia. 🙂 But I won’t steal them of course. It’s funny, I like the “L” and “K” sounds because of me and R’s last name. You’ve got the “K” sound too, but also “M” and the long “A”…so using any of those would make for a cool name. 😀 Unless that’s overdoing it? I don’t think so.

    Love you!

  3. chelle Says:

    We have our baby’s name picked out … We like original but not too out there. So for our third we decided on Cordelia …


Leave a Reply

